top of page
Search
  • agroeddie

The Midnight Meat Train (2008)


This is one of my favorite films. The Midnight Meat Train (2008) is directed by Ryuhei Kitamura and it is based off a short story from the “Books of Blood” anthology written by Clive Barker (author of Hellraiser and Nightbreed novels). I never read the book by Barker, but I did read the comic adaptation of it, from the series "Tapping the Vein".

Bradley Cooper and Vinnie Jones star in the film together with one of my favorite actresses of all time, Leslie Bibb.

I say it’s one of my favorite films because it’s one of those films that I can put on whenever I'm not sure what to watch (or I'm too lazy to find something) and it’s always as enjoyable as the first time you watch it. How the movie depicts New York City’s streets, it’s subway stations, trains and delis is very appealing to me. I find it has that horror noir aura that other great movies also have, like Maniac or Dragged Across Concrete. But The Midnight meat Train is more fantasy oriented than these two films. It has bits of horror comedy and gory scenes that reminded me of Drag Me to Hell.

The Midnight Meat Train follows Leo (Bradley Cooper), a photographer who is trying to capture the true essence of NYC streets at night, and who is constantly being pushed by his new boss to take more risks. Leo gets obsessed with the disappearance of a woman in the subway and with the huge suited man that enters the subway station every night, who Leo believes has something to do with the woman’s disappearance. Leo’s obsession pushes him away from his wife, he spends his nights following the misterious tall man and taking pictures of him. What he discovers about the tall man will make him wish he never started following him in the first place.

This is a very entertaining movie with great special effects, a twist and lots of violence which, in my opinion, makes it definitely worth a watch.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page